PDA

View Full Version : rear back box

ANTHONY
14-08-2005, 10:18 PM
i'm thinking of getting a rear back box mainly just for more noise..... what i wanna know is
1...what type
2...are they road legel
3...will it pass the mot
4....and what about warrenty issues

i'v see one on ebay its a ralliart type box is it worth getting.?
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7992564801&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1
i dont rearly wanna change the compleat system at the moment/help

Quail
15-08-2005, 06:53 PM
Im a bit of a newb here, but I'll answer anyway!

1) Personally, as it's a Jap turbo, id go for a 4" to 5" slashcut, but at the end of the day, its down to personal preference, and theres no right or wrong answer.

2) Yes, they are road legal. If you track your car though; they may have sound limits. It should be OK if your keeping your centre silencer though.

3) Yes it will pass MOT, the backbox wont affect your emmisions

4) Not sure on this one, if your reffering to the mistibushi warranty; if they can prove the backbox is the reason your car broke/ is faulty, then yes, it voids your warranty.

Hope this helps

ANTHONY
15-08-2005, 07:00 PM
thanks for that mate:thumbsup:

Quail
15-08-2005, 07:35 PM
No problem :)

Nick Mann
15-08-2005, 07:41 PM
Im a bit of a newb here, but I'll answer anyway!

1) Personally, as it's a Jap turbo, id go for a 4" to 5" slashcut, but at the end of the day, its down to personal preference, and theres no right or wrong answer.

2) Yes, they are road legal. If you track your car though; they may have sound limits. It should be OK if your keeping your centre silencer though.

3) Yes it will pass MOT, the backbox wont affect your emmisions

4) Not sure on this one, if your reffering to the mistibushi warranty; if they can prove the backbox is the reason your car broke/ is faulty, then yes, it voids your warranty.

Hope this helps

Agreed with all of the above except for one little word. Turbo! :p /pan

Quail