PDA

View Full Version : Warranties

colVR4
03-10-2005, 01:08 PM
Had enough of Red Zebra and the extortionate amount that they want for a warranty renewal so I checked out Warranty Direct. They have quoted me the following:

Gold Warranty
1 yr £277 /Hmmm
2 yr £500 :smug:
3 yr £710 /yes

Has anybody got a warranty through them or know if they are worth taking out? I have had a look at their website and have given them a call and they seem genuine, just wanted to know if anybody else had any dealings with them.

Brunty
03-10-2005, 01:24 PM
FYI: RAC warrantied my VR4 at £250 for one year - pleased with the service too.

I've no experience of Warranty Direct - although their prices seem to be OK.

Just like insurance; it would be wise to check that they know a VR4 is not just a Galant but has turbos and 4WD, both of which can lead to hefty repair costs (obviously).

colVR4
03-10-2005, 02:16 PM
Warranty direct had the VR4 listed as an estate, but said that it wasn't a problem as they would just put a note on to say it is the saloon version. They confirmed that it was 4wd, twin-turbo, AYC, ABS, etc. The guy that I spoke to was familiar with the car and said that listing it under the legnum wouldn't be a problem.

I also asked for my wife's MGTF 160 to be covered and it came out at £312 for a yr, which was more than the VR4!!! When I asked why, they said it was to do with the reliability of the vehicle.

ritch_w
03-10-2005, 02:56 PM
do they have a maximum claims limit? do they cover all the expensives bits - 4wd, turbos, 'box etc??? the reason i ask is, that from experience, some will only allow claims up to £1K and not cover everything, the red zebra may be extortionate - but it does cover everything

colVR4
03-10-2005, 03:19 PM