PDA

View Full Version : am I missing something??

strangebat
15-11-2005, 10:58 PM
I know it's pretty hard to tell from a picture but can anybody see anything glaringly obviously wrong in these pics.
first one is the front bank second the back. Considering the noise coming from them when the engine revs, they look surprisingly normal.
Gonna get a big enough bar tomorow to turn the engine and see what happens.

Btw this is after my engine ditched all its oil at xxxMPH on the m8 the other night

Nick Mann
15-11-2005, 11:04 PM
I can't see what it is? That looks the same as mine when I took mine apart? What have I missed??

Paul Beazer
15-11-2005, 11:05 PM
Im no expert, but the cam lobes "look" ok. Is it possible its your cam followers need to fill up with oil, hence the noise?? I would imagine if it was going some any oil in the follower would have been squeezed out by the rotation of the cam and with no oil being pumped into them they need to refill??

I hope its nothing terminal? Perhaps theres an air lock in some of the oil galleries? Fraid im not being very helpful, sorry.

strangebat
15-11-2005, 11:12 PM
I ran the engine for a while at idle before driving it, presuming that would fill any oil cavities but the noise is still there. Would it be possible damage to the bearings?? and if so is there a way to check them??

btw is this the turning point for the engine(small window on off side wheel arch)

A lot of questions :embarasse but I'm right on the limit of my technical knowledge here /help

richy rich
15-11-2005, 11:24 PM
yes that will turn your engine.
turn it clock wise.
use 1/2 ratchet and extension.

Nick Mann
15-11-2005, 11:26 PM
If your lifters are empty of oil, then it takes a while to get them full again. You need to rev the car to 2500 revs ish, then drop to idle and repeat a few times.

Having said that - if your problem is not the lifters then this advice could well be completely wrong!

Paul Beazer
15-11-2005, 11:34 PM