PDA

View Full Version : 245's on the back only

fat tyre matt
19-12-2005, 07:04 AM
On my never ending search to find a nice VR4 to buy I found a wagon with 17" rims and they seem to be the same width but there is one major difference:

the front is running 215 wide and the rear 245s's. The 245's are wider than the rims! - this is obvious just by looking. Do you think this would effect the handling of the car in any way? (It seemed to handle well and I got 3 lights on AYC, but I'm new to VR4's). Why would some japanese dude run different sizes like that, and is it safe? :rolleyes4

bradc
19-12-2005, 07:31 AM
What are the profiles of the tyres? I'm considering going with 235/45/17's for the front and 265/40/17's on the rear, this is less than 0.08% differance in rolling diameter.

You will probably find that the tyres don't match very well, and will cause big problems with the 4wd system, potentially destroying it. Do the tyres look well worn? (indicating the tyres have been on the car for a while)

I would ask the dealer to change them all to the correct tyre size for you, how wide are the rims? If they are 7", you should get 215mm, 7.5" 225mm, and for 8" 235mm is the best option.

You See
19-12-2005, 07:46 AM
Sounds like a VR4 Jigsaw where they couldn't find the original parts and made do with something from another set...this dealer sounds dod-gyyyyyy!! ...even with Bradc's theory, it's always best to stick with the same width (rims and tyres) all around on our beasts!
*** If it's not broken, don't fix it...UPGRADE IT! *** :scholar:

fat tyre matt
19-12-2005, 08:53 AM
Yep pretty dodgy. The tyres are new so there's no evidence of bad wear yet -