PDA

View Full Version : Club Magazine?

WildCards
04-01-2006, 06:58 PM
Has anyone seen Honda Revolutions? They have a quarterly magazine which is posted out to all members, while I'm not a member I have bought a few of the back issues which are very informative.

Would it be possible to produce a club magazine here?
I understand we only have the Galant to discuss but it doesn't have to be massive and we could release 2 maybe 3 a year, with a feature car, spec sheet, write ups, announcements, forthcoming events, free business advertisements for club members with their own business and/or approach tuning & parts companies with low advertising rates and possibly a 'how to' section detailing adding/replacement parts.

Some or none of you may know that I am a graphic designer working in the advertising industry already, so I have experience and contacts in the print trade. I would gladly put work into this with the help of at least one other. Or help anyone else who would like the project.

FYI - 500 8 Page A5 brochures printed on 150gsm gloss art would be around £280-£290. I don't know membership figures, would this cover it?

What are everybody's thoughts? Would it be worthwhile? Does the club have the funds for it if advertising was free?

Steve

Spirit
04-01-2006, 08:03 PM
Steve

We did actually have a newsletter many moons ago, but basically it died on it's arse for various reasons - mainly the work involved.

If someone is prepared to put the effort in I think it would be an excellent feature to add to the membership benefits.

In terms of members, we currently have on average around 170-180. Things to consider would of course be postage costs to such places as New Zealand, but we could maybe cover the whole cost of production/postage by selling advertising space to some of the companies we have discounts with (e.g insurance/parts etc) and indeed members as you said.