PDA

View Full Version : Oil Change

Slimshady
14-02-2006, 12:00 AM
Hi chaps – this weekend I am going to perform my second oil change since owning the car last time I simply drained the sump and filled it back up using 10/40 oil and a standard Mitsi oil filter.

This time I am thinking of using a K & N filter and also semi synthetic oil (as recommended by Mitsi) I would also like to do an oil flush.

A couple of questions:
1) What oil filter would you recommend (not bothered by a couple of £ - just want the best)? ---- I am thinking K & N HP-1010
2) What oil / grade of oil would you recommend? ----- I am thinking Semi synthetic or if my wallet can stretch Mobil 1
3) How would you flush the engine? ----- now this I have never done before

I have read several reports some on the club site (http://www.clubvr4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=13755&highlight=oil+filter)and some from other forums / reports

I have read somewhere that draining the sump then refitting the plug and filling with 4L of cheap sacrificial oil and 1L of white spirit (not sure if you start the engine at this point for a short period of time) then drain etc

I have also read reports of draining the sump and tipping white spirit through the engine to clean it

The two above options I think maybe a bit too extreme if not dangerous – I have also heard that engine flush is a waste of money

What would you recommend?

amsoil
14-02-2006, 02:25 AM
For oil filters get either a Mitzi one or a premier brand; Fram doesn't make it IMHO or in any tests I've seen.