PDA

View Full Version : New Emissions Standard - 2006 - VR-4 may not pass !!

KiwiTT
05-10-2003, 10:39 PM
Initially, I thought the new emission standard would be a good thing. Less smoke from diesels, "boy-racers" cars toned down; making our standard VR-4 look real good.

How can the emissions certifiers distinguish between whether a car is suitable for JAP but not US level of emissions, and therefore fail the car because it exceeds the more stringent US level.

I ask this because our beloved VR-4 could not be sold in the US because of emission laws there. It may require extensive and hence expensive modification to meet the US level, which may be used by the certifiers.

I was wondering if I should take my car to the emission certifier they showed on TV recently.

Brind
05-10-2003, 11:35 PM
2006? did I fall asleep and just regain consciousness 3 years later? damn these cobwebs are all over my keyboard. :INSERT INTO post VALUES ( :D

I'm no expert on emissions.
But I find it hard to believe the US has such issues with a very clean petrol burner such as the VR-4 with emission control devices such as a catalytic converter and electronic ignition etc and yet they have no issues with their 8 litre V12's drinking fuel at 5 miles per gallon.. :rolleyes:
Or are older cars exempt?

KiwiTT
05-10-2003, 11:49 PM
We in NZ are to bring these standards in 2006 (http://www.beehive.govt.nz/ViewDocument.cfm?DocumentID=17870) and as I expect to have my VR-4 for beyond that time, it is of some concern for me long term. Otherwise only 3 years of pleasure then heartache.

see your comments here (http://www.clubvr4.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1475) about the US, which initially sparked my concern.

jtfleming
05-10-2003, 11:56 PM