PDA

View Full Version : transmission swap

SKY is the LIMIT
06-05-2006, 03:19 AM
Hi there, im kinda new here. i own a galant vr4 2.5l Twin turbo. it came out of japan with a tipronic tranny. but i am seekin to put in a manual trans mission. any advise you guys have on wich transmission to use, because i hear rumors that the 3000GT AWD gearbox bolts straigt onto the 2.5l engine. as i am very new to my mitsubishi glant i have a lot of questions. just blew my engine to bits. my no3 and 5 cyl pistons had holes in them, due to a 75 shot of nos.

richy rich
06-05-2006, 07:20 AM
/Welcome
changing the gear box is poss (the 3000gt not shore if it will go strait on) a few peaple on here have done it, try a search.

Nick Mann
06-05-2006, 09:21 AM
There was a manual version of the 6A13TT VR4. The 3000GT is set up the other way round (engine an gearbox on other sides of the engine bay) so I would imagine that the 300GT box is not a sensible option. I could be proved wrong! We know that the Evo gearbox is very close to what is required, but none of us know yet how much work it would be to make it fit.

bradc
06-05-2006, 11:54 PM
I do Nick! The transfer box is in a differant place in EVO 7-9's, it is quite a bit further back. The Bellhousing is differant too, but not too differant. I've been quoted around $700 to make up a custom bellhousing to get a 6 speed EVO 8 onto a 6A13TT, the problem is the transfer case won't fit at all with the new gearbox, it needs to be IN the back cylinders :(

I'm working on it at the moment, but it looks like custom driveshafts will be needed.

SKY is the LIMIT
07-05-2006, 04:35 AM
But is there a manual gearbox that was designed for the 6A13TT, that will bolt straight onto the engine. and if thats not available, does someone have the specs for the toque converter in the car, as far as the size, bolt patren, bolt lenghts, so that i cvan look for a race converter or have one custom made

bradc
07-05-2006, 07:29 AM