PDA

View Full Version : My Tiptronic gearbox experiences

Dream Weaver
09-06-2006, 11:23 AM
Since I have had my Legnum I have had various issues with the transmission, sometimes I think more than my fair share !

Firstly the gearbox started to fail last year, the car would go but only just. The car went to Xtreme (well I was a Mitsubishi newbie !!!) and they had the gearbox sort of reconditioned by that place in Cannock.

Went OK for a couple of weeks until the transfer box went bang in a big way on the A5 in Anglesey, rear wheels locked up undriveable until RSE took the propshaft out so it at least could be moved. Even then it was not a happy bunny, and would just about move.

So it went off the road while I eventually sourced a 56,000 kilometre donor from Japan.

When the donor turned up the engine, gearbox, transfer box and back diff. Were swapped over and off I went.

However RSE had put normal ATF in the gearbox, so a quick flush was done with Amsoil and has since had a change of that for Amsoil again. At the same time I had an upgraded transmission oil cooler fitted.

However I have been having similar problems as described by Kalle elsewhere, the car seeming to get confused changing up when booting it a bit, usually between 2nd and 3rd with the engine revving happily but not much forward motion.

I had noticed something similar before my original gearbox started its sulks, in that the car would just not go any faster when attempting to accelerate, at the same time the “skidding car” traction control light would come on. This would last a few seconds and then it would go out and normal service was resumed.

The problem tends to happen when it’s a hot day, I am driving it a bit fast and the car is well warmed up.

It never seems to be a problem in Tiptronic mode.

This still happens so I guess if it is a fault, that the fault is not in the drivetrain but has been retained in the cars Tiptronic and/or traction control brain.