PDA

View Full Version : spark plug is covered with oil

magnai
28-08-2006, 03:43 AM
i have mitsu Galant gdi 1998 model with 1834cc engine. yesterday, i had the spark plugs looked as i was having cold startup problem. the car wouldnt start up the first time, but always starts up when i fire it the second time. anwyays, when i had it checked, the engineer found that the tips of the 4 sparks plugs were covered in engine oil. correct me if i'm wrong, but the plugs should be clean right. i'm guessing, the rubber rings or whatever its called, is borked...

Also another thing, my car idle fluctuates a little sometimes.. idling at 750rpm, rises to 950-1050.. i've read that good throttle body cleaning would solve the problem.. but (i'm a noob when it comes engines) i can't exactly locate the throttle body. if i'm not wrong, its at the engine side of air intake system right (right where the engine connects with the air intake tube)..a photo would help me so much... how do i clean it? i've bought some carb cleaner... should i just spray at it, and rub with brush or cloth.. should i do this with the engine running OR turned off..

thanks guys.. sorry for my noobie questions

Subaru ETA
28-08-2006, 08:06 AM
oil on plugs = rocker cover gasket needs replacing
cleaning throttle body = (throttle body is where the intake tube meets the intake manifold) remove intake tube, spray sum carb cleaner around,. open the butterfly by pulling the throttle cable. spary around edges and on the butterfly. try not to spray directly down the throttle! clean up with a rag. it may run like **** when you first start it after doing this as sum cleaner may have got into the manifold - just give it a few quick hard revs

magnai
28-08-2006, 08:24 AM
does the rocker cover gasket look something like this....
Gasket (http://www.allproducts.com/rubber/tongshuen/Product-2004799330.jpg).

again, my apologies for the newbie Qs

bradc
28-08-2006, 08:35 AM