PDA

View Full Version : Ecu Light and engine dies

thewaterboy
03-10-2006, 04:34 PM
Hi. Newbie here so bear with any stupidity!!! :rolleyes4

Had my 2.0l gls galant 2 months now.
was fine when i got it.
just got back off my hols and had nothing but trouble with the poor thing......
Ok. car is perfect if you drive on a straight flat road forever and a day BUT as soon as I "Give it some" and by that I mean 80mph+ or hit a hill. bearing in mind i have been to north yorkshire (UK) for a week the car goes cough cough, on comes the ecu warning light and then the car proceded to fire on 2 cylinders and then dies.

If I turn the IGN right off then start the car again all is ok untill i hit a hill or exceed 80 MPH again.

If I thrash it off a standing start she goes like a train, gear changes are fine (Auto box)

I am thinking sensor maybe or poss one of the coilpacks as when she dies the coilpack on the far right cuts out completly. But not 100% as i have heard these go into a limp mode and i guess this could be why the coilpack is cutting out.
HELP

ritch_w
03-10-2006, 10:02 PM
not a clue

but could be worth resetting the ECU / disconnect the battery for 10 mins

MAF sensor

air / vacuum leak??

thewaterboy
03-10-2006, 10:10 PM
Cheers. Tried ECU reset a few days ago.
Will look at vacum lines tomorrow. although the way it just goes dead on 2 cylinders seems to me as if its electrics.

Forgot to say that I had cambelt done recently and its only done it since

Kieran
03-10-2006, 10:20 PM
Cheers. Tried ECU reset a few days ago.
Will look at vacum lines tomorrow. although the way it just goes dead on 2 cylinders seems to me as if its electrics.

Forgot to say that I had cambelt done recently and its only done it since

Ah! That probably has some bearing!

Check your camshaft/crank position sensors (can't remember if the GLS 4G63 has one or both). If they're misaligned it could cause it.