PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Problem ... 2.5L V6

enyawbrown
23-11-2006, 12:21 PM
From what the diagonistics guy told me ( I am no transmission expert), there is an internal filter inside the transmission itself..different that the outside one. Of course being on the inside of the transmission it wont/cant get changed during the regular services. So after awhile it clogs, as filters do. So some fluid transfer thing slows done and the car races a little, the ECU picks up the racing and locks the car in 3rd gear (signified by a blinking neutral light). In the 3rd gear status the car is just slower to pick up but its still drives very well and the mid to top end is very good still. If the car is turned off and on again the ecu resets and its back in normal mode until it races again and locks.
So there's no damage to transmission as far as could be seen, the transmission has apprarently never been pulled so the over the lifetime of the car the filter clogs. So to fix the problem entails dropping the transmission and replacing the filter, put it up back, bolt up and you good to go.
If anybody sees a flaw in my explanantion, please correct me.

P.S. is this filter thingy really the problem, or does it sounds like i'll have to shell out a few thousand quids for a NEW or hardly used V6 tranny /help /help . It goes thru 1st and 2nd gear nicely, then gets 'stuck' in 3rd somehow /help

richy rich
23-11-2006, 12:38 PM
before you go through the cost and hassle of the box out do a ATF flush there is a article in the member section.

basically this changes and cleans the atf back to almost new

also if you can get hold of it use amsoil do a search for amsoil and atf flush and it will enlighten you.

Nick Mann
23-11-2006, 02:10 PM
I agree with Rich. do a full atf flush, not just the sump but the oil cooler etc as well, and then check again. Use a decent oil, not just the cheapest dexron III you can get your hands on.

enyawbrown
25-11-2006, 12:08 AM