PDA

View Full Version : Our Sunday

WildCards
18-12-2006, 12:29 PM
Richy kindly took me to Crediton yesterday to pick up my latest purchase. What appears to be a half way decent Peugeot 205 1.6 GTi track day car, the guy I bought it from was a decent enough chap and has spent a fair chunk of time and money on this car before being offered an Impreza for the track.

It was an eventful day, here's what happened:

I saw the car on ebay a few weeks ago, and after some messaging and telephone discussion we agreed a deal we were both happy with, I was to buy the car, a trailer and as many spares I could drive away with on the day for a very reasonable price.

We left Stoke at 08:30am in Richy's trusty old Transit and headed south to Crediton, Exeter. A pretty uneventful journey of pi55 taking and oggling and we arrived at the pickup point for 12:30am. After having a nose around the car, a cup of coffee and a chat we set about loading the parts into the van.

As you all know, I'm no mechanic, so to say I didn't have a clue what was going into the van is an understatement. I need to have a good sort out and start getting my head around engines and greasy bits, but the car did come with a few items I recognised, a (fingers crossed) healthy aluminium MI16 engine, a few sets of wheels with a mix of tyres, body panels, rear beams etc. Stuff I should be bale to get some money back for anyway.

Anyway, the trailer was a single axle jobby which had been stored away for some time, and no one knew it's condition, although it seems we all thought it'd be better than it was. No ramps, no ropes, a buggered jockey wheel and a lot of rust. It did however have independant suspension, was braked and the guy had supplied some lights to attach at the back.