PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - What NZ car alarm do you suggest?

martin_livingstone
04-02-2007, 10:49 PM
Hi

I'm very new to NZ, very new to a '97 Legnum VR4 and I need to fit a car alarm to satisy the insurance.

Any recommendations for an alarm? I've only rang one company on the North Shore so far and they quoted $450 for a 4* alarm and an offer of $500 for a 5*, both Mongoose brand.

I've only got one original key with remote locking - can I use the alarm off this or can the fob do the remote locking for me?

Any advice much appreciated!

Apart from that it's a great car. Jap import, 104k kms, pristine inside - I don't think rear seat belts or boot have ever been used. I think the brakes will need some attention soon as the discs/rotors have a waxy appearance which happened on my Alfa

To a bloke it's a purple colour, to a girl it's lilac/lavendery. Everyone has a Subaru, so wanted to be different!

Oh yes, it came with an Alpine Sat Nav/CD changer and dashboard television complete with roof aerials. I guess the chap who had it before spent all his time in a traffic jam. Not sure what to do with this yet.

Martin

jaimz
05-02-2007, 12:13 AM
Hey dude, welcome to the club.
I got a Dynatron 7800 with a turbo-timer chip put in mine. Totally happy with it. :happy:

d i c k i e s
05-02-2007, 12:32 AM
same here! whateva the insurance company approves of anyway... lol

konman
05-02-2007, 09:56 PM
send me a PM of what you want to spend, turbo timer function, glass break etc and so on and I can hook you up for less than a shop will screw you for. all legit too which is nice.

mpau009
05-02-2007, 11:07 PM
Hey dude, welcome to the club.
I got a Dynatron 7800 with a turbo-timer chip put in mine. Totally happy with it. :happy:

Yep me too:afro:

Xeroid
06-02-2007, 04:54 AM
Dynatron here, both cars, no problems, and on two previous vehicles.
Welcome along btw, NZ and VR$ country ( Ooops slip of the keyboard there.)

martin_livingstone
06-02-2007, 09:46 PM
Cheers