PDA

View Full Version : I'm new!

martin_livingstone
04-02-2007, 10:55 PM
Hi

I'm very new to NZ, very new to a '97 Legnum VR4 and I need to fit a car alarm to satisy the insurance.

Any recommendations for an alarm? I've only rang one company on the North Shore so far and they quoted $450 for a 4* alarm and an offer of $500 for a 5*, both Mongoose brand.

I've only got one original key with remote locking - can I use the alarm off this or can the fob do the remote locking for me?

Any advice much appreciated!

Apart from that it's a great car. Jap import, 104k kms, pristine inside - I don't think rear seat belts or boot have ever been used. I think the brakes will need some attention soon as the discs/rotors have a waxy appearance which happened on my Alfa

To a bloke it's a purple colour, to a girl it's lilac/lavendery. Everyone has a Subaru, so wanted to be different!

Oh yes, it came with an Alpine Sat Nav/CD changer and dashboard television complete with roof aerials. I guess the chap who had it before spent all his time in a traffic jam. Not sure what to do with this yet.

Martin

Axeboy
04-02-2007, 11:44 PM
Welcome m8

You should find all the info you need on the site... I dont know about the alarm and such, but someone here will...

:)

martin_livingstone
04-02-2007, 11:51 PM
Cheers mate

I've just moved from the UK to NZ and I'm still trying to find out which way is up at the moment. I can't recall ever seeing or noticing a Legnum in the UK before and since I've been here I've thought what a nice car they are for my price range (3,000 quid). It's a lot of car for the money even though it is 10 years old and it's got loads of good family stuff and hidey holes everywhere.

Insurance is NZ $461 a year fully comp. Divide by 2.85 to get pounds sterling and start crying!

Very Vroomy also!

Martin

Axeboy
04-02-2007, 11:56 PM
Nice one...

So you took the plunge and went...

I admire that.

What tempted you over? Work?

martin_livingstone
05-02-2007, 03:01 AM