PDA

View Full Version : Absurd Marketing

I-S
26-02-2007, 06:50 PM
I have observed various bits of ridiculous marketing, even outside of the world of hifi. Here's a couple of examples that struck me as particularly silly. Feel free to add ones you've seen.

Colgate Professional Toothbrush

I am a professional. I use various software and hardware tools in doing my job, and as such these tools could be described as professional.

A professional camera might be such as used by someone who earns their living from photography. A professional monitor is one that might be used by a graphic designer or type-setter.

But a toothbrush? Who's job is it to brush teeth? It's something we all do, a tool we all use. I think a Ford Mondeo has a stronger claim to the "Professional" tag because reps and taxi drivers use them in their jobs.

Hewlett-Packard Office Paper

The packaging boldly proclaims "Outperforms ordinary paper!".

How?!

For starters, what are the performance metrics of paper? By what test method did they determine that HP paper is better? Was the testing independant or double-blind? Does it give cleaner paper cuts? Make longer-lasting origami? Will letters printed on it be sure to get you that job you're longing for? The possibilities are endless...

Kieran
26-02-2007, 07:48 PM
Can't comment on the toothbrush, but there's quite some science in paper, even for the same weight. The chemicals can determine the ink absorbency, smudging, blotting, etc etc.

Si.
26-02-2007, 08:06 PM
I'm totally with you on this, some of the things company's put on their products is ridiculous these days.

It was only a few months ago that i noticed on the side of my new jar of Sunpat Peanut butter, with no artificial colours, flavours or additives, that apparently it was a even "nuttier flavour".......

HOW?!?!? IT'S MADE OF SODDING PEANUTS, HOW CAN YOU MAKE IT TASTE NUTTIER!!!

psbarham
26-02-2007, 08:18 PM