PDA

View Full Version : Altering afr

Paul C
03-03-2007, 09:44 PM
I have installed a map ecu 2 and are currently running it in auto learn .I will soon be looking to alter my afrand ehich is the best way to do this. i s it best to alter fuel map/o2 sensor output reading reading to compensate. I am new to tuning and are probablu out of my depth but i sm willing to learn so are in no rush just to start tweaking.Any advice would be great,thans paul

Gly
03-03-2007, 10:13 PM
you need to either have it dyno tuned by a pro. properly,

or buy a wideband EGO sensor, such as the LM-1 or LC-1
so you can moniter your AFR, and correctly modify you fuel map on the map ecy to get the desired AFR,

http://www.mapecu.com/map2.html

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/lc1.php

Paul C
03-03-2007, 10:54 PM
you need to either have it dyno tuned by a pro. properly,

or buy a wideband EGO sensor, such as the LM-1 or LC-1
so you can moniter your AFR, and correctly modify you fuel map on the map ecy to get the desired AFR,

http://www.mapecu.com/map2.html

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/products/lc1.php

I have the lm-1 system and have thought about getting it mapped proffessionally, but that takes the interest out of buying map ecu2. i'm not going to rush into trying to achieve great horse power.I want to understand what i am doing and then have the ability to alter the map when purchasing tuning mods.

Kenneth
03-03-2007, 11:00 PM
if you want to alter closed loop AFR, then you will need to program the LC-1. Search for a thread I posted named something like "leaning out AFR in closed loop" which will tell you how to do it.

The auto-learn isn't that great really... you need to do some data logging to work out what should really be in the cells. Once you have got a decent map you can start modifying the values and re-logging to see their effect.

of course you have to be careful not to blow your engine up....

mpau009
04-03-2007, 05:58 AM