PDA

View Full Version : unresolved box problem

wazzo
04-06-2007, 09:46 PM
to carry on from last thread (newbie auto gearbox problem help!!)

Hi, i spent the whole day removing the gearbox of my legnum, and most of sunday stripping the thing, exspecting to find something major wrong but to my amazement i cant find anything, im no pro when it comes to auto boxs but im sure i would notice if any thing was wrong, so dont know what to do next.

any ideas????

Nutter_John
04-06-2007, 09:49 PM
So all the splines look fine , and the sockets they go into look fine , no sign of damage anywhere .

Maybe it is internal to the TC or the GB , did you attempt to strip the box down or just observe from the outside ?

Kieran
04-06-2007, 09:56 PM
Unless it's internal, the only thing I can think is a sensor's gone screwy.... But I've never heard of a busted sensor NOT throwing a fault code and flashing up the 'N' light.

wazzo
04-06-2007, 10:12 PM
thats what i thought, maybe the TC internals! can the TC be checked in any way, as you well know its acompletly sealed unit.

all the splines are fine and the gears, no metal particals

i've stripped the b......d thing right down to the shell, checking all parts as they came out all the clutch plates look like new, its all clean, no heat spots

Nutter_John
04-06-2007, 10:40 PM
Think it sounds like the TC , not sure of a way to check the unit off the car and as you say it is a completely sealed unit .

Maybe Richy may have a few ideas in the morning

wazzo
05-06-2007, 10:21 PM
Yes!!! found the problem!!!!

It was the TC, The TC has two internal splines inside, the upper spline had warn it's self out,

ive been quoted £150 to get the TC recon'd, doe's anyone know where i can get it done cheaper or has a secondhand one available?

Nutter_John
05-06-2007, 10:27 PM
Maybe Zedy1 ( Mo ) has one in ???

Probably best to call him on the number advertised

Kieran
05-06-2007, 10:46 PM
Yes!!! found the problem!!!!