PDA

View Full Version : What relationship do you New Zealanders have with Australians?

Brind
07-01-2004, 12:08 AM
Forgive my history knowledge as this may sound stupid but I honestly don't know the answer.

You New Zealanders came from Australia didn't you?
Is it possible for a New Zealander to just turn up on the door of Australia and start working for a living there and buy a house as he/she would in New Zealand?
Or would you need to apply for a Green Card INSERT INTO post VALUES (work permit) and have a suitable job title etc etc before being allowed in to stay?

Here in the UK, since we are part of Europe we can work in Germany and Spain etc without too.. much difficulty.

Just wondering what the situation is for you guys and Australia.

Emma
07-01-2004, 01:36 AM
Well I am originally from the uk now a kiwi and from what I understand if you are a new zealand citzen which you apply to be once your over here, you can then work and live in aussie. I am only a permenant resident at the mo so I have to get an aussie visa to get in. You might want to watch what you say about kiwi's comming from Aussie though, not true and likely to cause hostility lol :)

Brind
07-01-2004, 01:52 AM
The accent is very similer and they aren't too far from each other so I just assumed.. :lipsrseal :-D

Thanks for the reply.

Nigelator
07-01-2004, 03:00 AM
FOR STARTS---->we great Kiwis didnt come from OzzieINSERT INTO post VALUES (the land of all ex-pom criminals) but we mostly came from UK, Scotland and Irland, I think it was the beutilfulness of our country and the Gold rush that the rich families sent their sons ova here.

More lats

jtfleming
07-01-2004, 04:17 AM
The accent is very similer and they aren't too far from each other so I just assumed.. :lipsrseal :-D

We sound nothing like Aussies, its like saying you sound like the Welsh!!!!! :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Spirit
07-01-2004, 08:02 AM