PDA

View Full Version : Pc Help ! Help !! Help !!!

Wodjno
18-11-2007, 01:43 PM
I am trying to install a printer on my desktop pc..
When i connect it, it doesn't pick it up automatically like it normally does when i install new hardware.
When i go to Add new hardware, it says there is already an install in progress and i have to wait for that install to finish before i can continue with a new install ? But i'm not installing any other hardware ??
When i check for applications and processes running.. It shows none ?
What is going on ??

By the way, this is on Windows Vista !!

Regards

WODJ :speechles

miller
18-11-2007, 01:48 PM
It may already have installed and its a matter of just adding new printer from the 'printers and faxes' option on the start up command box?

May be completely wrong as i have no experience of Vista.

Mike

or switch off and start again

Wodjno
18-11-2007, 02:07 PM
It may already have installed and its a matter of just adding new printer from the 'printers and faxes' option on the start up command box?

May be completely wrong as i have no experience of Vista.

Mike

or switch off and start again

Hmm.. Couldn't finder icon for printers /Grrr

I know where it would have been on XP :thinking:

Used device manager and found printer, but it wasn't installed correctlt, so now downloading drivers from HP site.. :happy:

Thanx for your help Mike :pimp2:

WODJ

bradc
18-11-2007, 07:18 PM
90% of the time with printers, you need to run the software from the printer supplier, and then plug the printer in when the software tells you.

plugging it in first is almost always WRONG

SiliconAngel
18-11-2007, 11:15 PM
Have to agree with Brad there, unless you really know what you're doing and can use Device Manager to point Windows in the right direction, but that's a little involved.