PDA

View Full Version : Made my own projector headlights

Louis
20-12-2007, 01:15 PM
I Finally got round to finishing these, I have been messing around for about 3 months, with various set ups, and have finally finished.
I made up metal plates and an adjusting mechanism, which still allows for adjustment to the beams once they are fitted to the car.
I used hella 90mm projector units and made up beam pattern plates for UK driving, and used 4 projector units rather then the main beam units (that are not projector but do match the look).
I toyed with the idea of the angel eye thing but thought it would date quite quickly.
So:
In Each projector unit (low and main both sides) I have put 2 white led's (8 in total), I have wired thes up to the side light connector inside the headlamp so the side light connector just plugs in.
Each unit takes an H9 65w lamp, (which I am thinking about upgrading to an HID set up, as this is pretty straight forward).
I changed the connectors for main and low beam to the H9 connectors, and the indicator connector is just the same. I did use silvered bulbs for the indicators, and I removed the orange lens, so all looks clear from the front.

They are brighter than the standard headlights, as they are, but the HID thing would make them even more so.

I made up an adjusting mechanism which allows for a rough set up on the car before the clear glass goes on, and then fine tuning adjusters for when the headlight is sealed up. (This also allows for adjustment at mot time and daily running just like the original set up.

Anyhoo!, I have attached some photos below of the set up at various stages.
It is quite difficult to get a decant image of the lights when they are on (I'm not the best with the camers).
I think they make the car look much better, (but I am biased).

Just the rears to go now!!!

wirdy
20-12-2007, 01:21 PM
Looks great. Well done.

Wish I had the time do do similar :thinking:

pitslayer
20-12-2007, 01:55 PM