PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs help...

Oxamus
26-03-2008, 09:22 AM
Hey guys,

New to this site, living in NZ....
I have a 98 galant VR-4 (manual), wanting to do a few additions...
like new computer that will allow me to wind boost up above 10 without fuel cuts(or do i need a new pump)?
I am not really a mechanic just need some help where i can find parts as I am having a tad of trouble... Any help is appreciated of how to get a bit more grunt at low cost..

Thanks all. Jeremy.

hi flyer
26-03-2008, 10:51 AM
Hi there. Welcome to the club.
I'd say forget about the computer unless you are going to get serious with big power. Just a 3 inch exhaust and downpipes and a boost controller would be the best place to start. You should be able to increase the boost to 1 bar with out having to do any other mods but .9 bar (13psi) should be max to be on the safe side. Search the site for more info on boost controllers etc.

Matt

Nick Mann
26-03-2008, 11:30 AM
To avoid fuel cut, you will have to do one of two things:

Install a device that fools the ECU into thinking that fuel cut conditions have not been reached, eg an HKS FCD. or:
Increase the injector size and add a piggy back ecu, this will allow you to reduce the air flow signal and thus the injector duty cycle (but bigger injectors mean that more fuel is flowing) so again, the ECU doesn't think that the fuel cut conditions have been reached.

Each VR4 seems to be a bit different as to whenit hits fuel cut, so go with hi flyers suggestions first and then look at removing fuel cut if/when it happens.

Fred
26-03-2008, 12:02 PM
mine hits f/c at 14 psi exactly

Nick Mann
26-03-2008, 12:06 PM
mine hits f/c at 14 psi exactly

If it works the way I think then it should be a combo of revs, air temp and boost pressure.

At a guess, you were around 3000-4000 rpm when you hit fuel cut?

Oxamus
26-03-2008, 11:23 PM
Where abouts did you get your exhaust done from highflyer?