PDA

View Full Version : Why soooooo much BHP from A V6

Slimshady
01-04-2008, 12:53 AM
Ok this question has been asked a lot over the past years (main problem is that I state my dyno results under my name)

So why did my car achieve 194.7BHP a couple of years ago at the Silverstone club meet?

Although I am an engineer and have a slight understanding of cars I might be wrong so take the following with a pinch of salt – any comments welcomed.

Please do not read this incorrectly the V6 is a good car and the VR4 should be a lot better – not that I have driven a VR4 but I am still taken with the V6 because it is front wheel drive and puts all the power there – this is a good thing if you can get the power down. I have recently brought eagle F1’s all round and I can still wheel spin in the dry in 1st and 2nd gear – in the wet I can wheel spin in 3rd – not good..... but fun.

The only upgrades I have installed is replacing the standard air box with a cone filter and using two 1.5” air pipes from the front of the car to the cone.

Mitsubishi clam the V6 has 120KW of power at 5750RPM this equates to 161BHP at 5750 RPM this is not far off when you look at the dyno graphs but my V6 has a bit more because it has been slightly modified as stated above – my V6 has approximately 180BHP at 5750RPM a bit up on Mitsys statement.

The VR4 has 4WD, AYC and a compression ratio of 8:1, on top of this most VR4’S are automatic this will lose a lot - 25% for 4WD and a further 7% for automatic transmition. If you look at my graph you will see that I am pulling 145.2KW or 194.7 on my second run, this is about 127.91BHP at the wheels, a standard VR4 pulls 110BHP at the wheels. A modified VR4 with say a Blits boost controller will pull 150BHP at the wheels.

The V6 is obviously a normally aspirated car and therefore has a compression ratio of about 10:1 – subsequently it is a very rev’y car and I challenge any VR4 owner to rev as fast as a V6.