PDA

View Full Version : Gearbox Urgent

stephenlansbury
02-12-2008, 02:49 PM
Hi, I posted on here but got a reply more relevant to the lights than the gearbox. Also I got it wrong it's not the ABS light coming on!
ANYWAY...

My gear change on my auto box isn't smooth delay in changing gear from 2 to 3 and 3 to 4. It's noisy, like a dry pump noise.

engine warning light and TCL come on at the same time.

Any ideas? Or am I looking at a total gearbox replacement? :-(

Nutter_John
02-12-2008, 02:59 PM
where abouts in the Uk are you , maybe one of the guys on here could come and have a look for ya

I assume you have checked the fuild levels and the colour

If you do need an auto box give me a shout as I have one

stephenlansbury
02-12-2008, 03:06 PM
How much are u asking for your auto box? In case it comes to that.
I'm a mechanic myself and my experience is telling me the gearbox is screwed, but as I have no machine to plug it into nor any repair reference guides that aren't in Japanese I'm asking people on here first if they know what it might be.

Nutter_John
02-12-2008, 03:26 PM
just sent you a private message

Kieran
02-12-2008, 03:39 PM
You could have just replied to that other thread rather than starting a new one you know - Not that it matters but it can help with the 'history' of the problem :)

Okay - Engine warning light and TCL OFF light, if that's what's coming up is VERY common and is usually easily fixed. On the bulkhead, there's a little grey cannister with a couple of vacuum pipes going to it. That's part of the TCL system and it's common for those vaccuum lines to perish/split over time. The other thing is in close proximity there's a couple of solenoids/relays on a bracket that's connected to the bulkhead via anti-shock mounts. These can also give up - Again, check the pipes/connectors, give 'em a waggle, etc.