PDA

View Full Version : Hi........ and should I be worried?

PocketRocket
11-09-2009, 06:29 PM
Hi guys, I've recently gone from a Honda CRX VTi (2-seater with electric hood) to a Mitzi Galant 2.5 v6 24v estate automatic (not much difference eh?)

I've been looking through the service papers and noticed that in January this year it stated that there was a leak in the power steering pipe and gearbox. However, on the MOT in July they just reported light dampness around both parts??

It pulls like a train, goes through the gears smoothly & is nice and light in the steering.

So as the title suggests, should I be worried???

Thanks

Pete

aboo
11-09-2009, 07:08 PM
Hi & welcome to CVR4.

The steering leak could just be the gaters. My VR4 does that & its not to bad but I will be fixing it soon.

I'm no expert but I had a small leak from the gear box just before the torque convertor seal went but it may be sometime else.

Bat
11-09-2009, 07:29 PM
Hi,
On the service they will report everything that they could charge you for repairing. The MOT just checks the testable items. It would have to be a serious leak to fail the MOT, from the steering as g/box isn't testable . Have you got any advisory note from the MOT?
Cheers,
Gavin :)

Gowf
11-09-2009, 07:58 PM
The gearboxs usualy do have a bit of seepage, as long as its not dripping from where it mounts the engine as that may be your torque convertor seal.

With the P/S it may be the PS cooler itself. Ive seen a few leak due to abrasion, they are at least nice and easy to sort.

PocketRocket
12-09-2009, 10:24 AM
Hi,
On the service they will report everything that they could charge you for repairing. The MOT just checks the testable items. It would have to be a serious leak to fail the MOT, from the steering as g/box isn't testable . Have you got any advisory note from the MOT?
Cheers,
Gavin :)