PDA

View Full Version : If something's air tight, is it fuel tight?

Jesus-Ninja
24-10-2009, 01:05 PM
I'm fitting a sard AFPR which has threaded holes into which go 3 threaded hard stubs. One goes to the return to tank (low pressure), one goes to the fuel rail (high pressure) and the other I am teeing into an oil filled pressure gauge for under the bonnet to set the pressure and a pressure sensor to go to an electrical gauge in the cabin. So all in all I have a few joints, none of which I'd want to let go.

So I figured I'd pressure test the high pressure connections by connecting one to a source of air (a foot pump as it happens) and blocking the other off with a bit of pipe with a bolt in the end.

If it holds air pressure, is it same to assume it will hold fuel pressure. I believe so, but would like the warm fuzzy feeling of agreement from peopl with more brain cells than me. :D

richy rich
24-10-2009, 01:20 PM
yes if it will hold air it will hold liquid.

As a plumber I use air to check pipe work and I've never had a water leak if it has held air.

Q1 what pressure are you checking it at.
Q2 how long are you holding the pressure.

Jesus-Ninja
24-10-2009, 01:28 PM
Cheers Rich - well, the regulator currently opens up at 60 psi so blocking that off, I can go above, although I'm not sure if this will damage the regulator, but I suspect not. Probably about 80 psi?

I have discovered that my pump leaks though, so I have to clamp the hose on the pump once it's up to pressure.

I've been using a paint brush to slap some soapy water over the joints to look for leaks.

It's more to test that it's not going to instantly p!ss fuel everywhere. Folk fit these with out testing so this is more belt and braces.

Jesus-Ninja
24-10-2009, 02:32 PM