PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Cheap radiator off anything

Archie
08-11-2009, 04:15 AM
In my quest for an efficient heat exchanger for my spa I'm now thinking that a car radiator would work really well. In a 1985 Golf I saw their radiator had a series of pipes running across it which would be the best, but anything would be good.

Anyone got an old one lying around?

razza
08-11-2009, 10:27 PM
got one off E39A VR4. One doz of speights pure will take it away.

Archie
08-11-2009, 10:38 PM
Sounds mint. My other options taking one off this guy's civic on trademe. What's the layout of the E39A radiator? Just saw that BMW radiators have plastic sides, which wouldn't do for me at all (It's going to be in a fire).

Can I come grab it today? I'm a bum student, the sooner I can get it the better.

Roberto
09-11-2009, 12:26 AM
VR4 rads have a plastic top section.

So might be of no use either, not sure about the rest of the range.

wintertidenz
09-11-2009, 12:48 AM
I guess what you could also do is get a piece of pipe, cut it to the right width then weld it across the top of the rad to replace the plastic bit and weld up one end - might be a good alternative to an alu radiator for a student :D

Archie
09-11-2009, 08:31 AM
I'd probably just cut a section out of the drum and leave the plastic top poking out. The water will be running through it so it should be sweet.

That civic one was way too small, and had plastic on the top and bottom. Thinking now that a 4wd diesel would have a better one, bigger at least.

scott.mohekey
09-11-2009, 09:29 AM
I HAD a spare 8th gen vr4 one up until a month or two ago. I'll keep an eye out for another.

waxer
10-11-2009, 04:17 AM