PDA

View Full Version : MAF to MAP

gareth001
04-01-2010, 01:08 PM
OK here goes, my first potential mod since I imported the car - removal of the MAF sensor and put in a MAP. Now I have the HKS FCON V-Pro ECU and you can just buy the sensor to plug into it. Questions are though:

What is needed as well as the MAP as assuming the MAF is removed, not just disconnected? So hard piping for that section?
Is this a better step to do rather than putting back in the stock airbox? (Yes I know big debate now...)
Is there anything else I need to consider 1st, like fuel pump, injectors?

Mods on car currently (that I know of):

Blitz Sus Power induction kit (cone filter) with origional ram air ducting from grill
HKS F-Con V-Pro ECU
HKS EBC
Greddy Intercooler
Greddy Oil Cooler
Cat Back Exhaust

Thanks for any advice

TAR
04-01-2010, 01:22 PM
I'm no expert so the following is only based on my limited knowldge!!

1. With the MAF removed, the cone filter with a cold air feed should be fine (its the flow disruption from the cone with a MAF which is bad)

2. I believe that you will need to 'fix' the inlet air temperature to the stock ecu once the MAF is gone.

3. If you are running boost and getting fuel cut, then consider an uprated fuel pump and FPR.

4. bigger injectors are only really needed if your target BHP figure is likely to be in excess of 330BHP.

I'm sure someone far more knowledgeable will be along soon to put this straight!

:happy:

gareth001
04-01-2010, 01:46 PM
I'm no expert so the following is only based on my limited knowldge!!

1. With the MAF removed, the cone filter with a cold air feed should be fine (its the flow disruption from the cone with a MAF which is bad)

2. I believe that you will need to 'fix' the inlet air temperature to the stock ecu once the MAF is gone.

3. If you are running boost and getting fuel cut, then consider an uprated fuel pump and FPR.