PDA

View Full Version : Hi, another newbie

kpeter20
05-01-2010, 01:07 PM
Hi

Newbie here, been interested in a vr4 for a while now and about to jump in.

Anyone got any experience with Ebony and Ivory? if so I would be grateful of any info about them.

Anything I should be looking for when I go to see a car for sale?

Cheers
Ken

Roberto
05-01-2010, 01:49 PM
/Welcome

Have a nice stay.

And search is your friend.
You'll find a few bits about Black and White.

kpeter20
05-01-2010, 03:47 PM
Thanks for the reply.

I have seen a 1998 'S' facelift galant vr4.

Done just over 44,000 miles in grade 4b condition.

No AYC

Auto box.

Price advertised is 4999.

I have tried to haggle and so far have got, MOT, 6 months tax, engine and auto box service and car valet. Toad Cat one alarm and the cambelt changed.

Also comes with their 3 month warranty - I have read that some people have had problems with the warranty offered but am happy to take a chance.

Is the AYC an option on facelift models or did they just not come with it?

Cheers
Ken

Nick Mann
05-01-2010, 06:27 PM
AYC was not included on the type-V. You won't have the plastic body kit either, or the flashy back-lit dash.

Make sure that the autobox is flushed with an oil that meets the SPIII standard - dexron III does not meet the standard and a flush should involve at least 10 litres of oil.

keithatport
05-01-2010, 07:01 PM
Hi and welcome to the club.

elnevio
05-01-2010, 07:19 PM
I did tell E&I that if they are using the proper stuff that they say they are, then they should enquire of Hyundai for their SP-III, being as it should be cheaper, although otherwise identical.