PDA

View Full Version : Help please

VR4Kaos
05-02-2010, 03:26 PM
my vr4 is seems to play up sometimes if i have a play :guitarist especily if i use the tiptronic :uhoh: it happens afterwards when i start up it willl run a lil lumpy almost as if it was gonna stall but dosen't then after a few seconds resumes to normal but may i also add the revs seem a lil low on idel was wondering if this is the problem ? :uhoh:

peter thomson
05-02-2010, 03:39 PM
The stepper motor probably needs a clean but a vta can cause the same thing if fitted on restart

VR4Kaos
05-02-2010, 03:41 PM
whats thestepper motor and vta m8 im not a mechanic so a bit thick in this area sorry

peter thomson
05-02-2010, 03:44 PM
The stepper motor controls the idle and there is a guide on cleaning it. VTA - vent to atmosphere blow off valve. Do you still have the standard one fitted

VR4Kaos
05-02-2010, 03:46 PM
yes i think it standard i aint had chance do do any upgrdes yet m8

elnevio
05-02-2010, 04:40 PM
Not uncommon, this. Sometimes cleaning the stepper motor doesn't cure it.

I bet it happens about half an hour after you last drove it?

raph
05-02-2010, 05:07 PM
If the stepper motor looks like the typical mitsi jobbies of that era,then ive got a link :

http://www.dsmisc.com/dsmweb-dw/index.html

WizardKing
05-02-2010, 06:28 PM
VTA - vent to atmosphere blow off valve. Do you still have the standard one fitted

Thanks Peter.
I had concluded that occasional lumpy idling was down to my dump-valve. It has been so intermittent, though, I wasn't certain.

Thankfully, diagnosis is a lot less hassle with a GFB hybrid valve fitted. [Setting it up with a good return-flow to sound-effect ratio was fun, too. Every set of traffic-lights saw me dive out of the car and stick an arm underneath the nearside headlamp !!]

VR4Kaos
05-02-2010, 10:09 PM
Not uncommon, this. Sometimes cleaning the stepper motor doesn't cure it.

I bet it happens about half an hour after you last drove it?
yes it does how you guess