PDA

View Full Version : Flexible Filler Ratios

oldgit9
02-05-2010, 05:22 PM
as some of you might be aware, im modding a double pillar gauge pod to fit my A pillar. and it's come the time to start using the filler to blend in the pod to the pillar.

now im no mechanic or panel beater, so i have no clue when it comes to using filler. basically, i only want to use a quarter of the tin at a time. as not to waste any. and i want to rub it down in-between applications to see where i need more or less filler.

so im a bit confused to the mixing ratios of the filler and hardener. on the tin it states "100 part filler to 2 parts hardener". as i only want to use a quarter of a tin at a time, i have worked out the following:-

full tin = 490g filler and 10g hardener

quarter tin = 112.5g filler and 2.5g filler

am i right in this ratio? or am i totally wrong? any advice would be appreciated.

Wodjno
02-05-2010, 05:29 PM
as some of you might be aware, im modding a double pillar gauge pod to fit my A pillar. and it's come the time to start using the filler to blend in the pod to the pillar.

now im no mechanic or panel beater, so i have no clue when it comes to using filler. basically, i only want to use a quarter of the tin at a time. as not to waste any. and i want to rub it down in-between applications to see where i need more or less filler.

so im a bit confused to the mixing ratios of the filler and hardener. on the tin it states "100 part filler to 2 parts hardener". as i only want to use a quarter of a tin at a time, i have worked out the following:-

full tin = 490g filler and 10g hardener

am i right in this ratio? or am i totally wrong? any advice would be appreciated.

The above is not correct..

25% of 490g = 122.5g

So 1/4 tin = 122.5g filler & 2.5g hardener /yes

Cheers

Wodj

Or if ur being exact ?

490g of filler and 9.8g hardener.

122.5g filler and 2.45g hardener

John TheAntique
02-05-2010, 05:39 PM