PDA

View Full Version : help me ,not running right

Wobble
12-06-2010, 04:32 PM
just had a new rad put in by the father in law ,no problems there. he was a mechanic in oz
problem is i just took the car out and it is very lumpy on idle and when driving,havent driven it in a week but not noticed these before.
noticed a couple of things .

NO 1 - i normally drive in triptronic , gave it some beans and i can hear the dump valve on gear change( i have a stock recirculating one) not loud but noticable with the windows open .should you here it at all?

NO2 - when he replaced the rad a a few pipes came off aswell (airbox, ect) could he have buggered one up.

not happy RR day in a week and am getting worried that there is a big problem

just letting it cool down now but will try again in a bit.

oldgit9
12-06-2010, 04:46 PM
im no expert but here's my thoughts.

no.1 i can hear mine if i drive it hard enough. so i guess yes is the answer to that,

no.2 check to see if all the connectors are in place correctly ie. the air box etc. he might have knocked one slightly and it's not sitting correctly or not pushed back in all the way. or it could have rattled off.

like i've mentioned, im no expert and i could be totally wrong. but im sure someone with a lot more knowledge will post.

Wobble
12-06-2010, 04:52 PM
had a good look around in the middle of my journey couldnt see anything wrong .waiting for everything to cool down then i will check all pipes and connections. i dont need this

oldgit9
12-06-2010, 04:55 PM
i dont need this

i know exactly what you mean. i was thinking the same, when i had the new aerodynamics package forcibly fitted to my car a week before japfest. i was not a happy bunny.

elnevio
12-06-2010, 05:03 PM
Are you getting any error lights, e.g. TCL OFF, Skiddy Car, EML, etc?