PDA

View Full Version : leaking auto

Brad_Colbert
10-08-2010, 03:08 AM
I'm a newbie so bear with me. My auto legnum has just developed a oil leak out of the gearbox somewhere. It is a fair quantity as I see oil running down the chassis rail when I jacked it up to look. I can't actually see where it is coming from unless I put it on a hoist. I can't imagine this to be a normal occurence but are there any common faults that occur with these models?

Ryan
10-08-2010, 03:21 AM
Could be a failed torque converter seal. If the fluid is reddish in colour then it would almost certainly be the culprit. Have a search (top right of the forum page) for "torque converter seal" or combinations of those words with leak and failure.

It is a labour intensive job to replace as the AT needs to be removed in order to change the seal.

Brad_Colbert
10-08-2010, 03:29 AM
Yes it is a reddish oil. thanks

bradc
10-08-2010, 05:13 AM
Hi Brad :)

as Ryan said it is almost certainly a leaking torque converter. The leak will be coming from the gearbox close to the engine.

Make sure you keep it topped up if you are still driving it. The boxes are very sensitive about having the right amount of oil in them and running it low will cause instant death

Brad_Colbert
10-08-2010, 05:36 AM
thanks bradc. The car's not going anywhere till I sort things out with the people who sold it to me.

bradc
10-08-2010, 05:45 AM
It is fairly common for them to start leaking after being idle for some time, like sitting on a boat and then sitting in a car yard

Brad_Colbert
10-08-2010, 06:11 AM
Thats just the history with this vehicle.

Ryan
10-08-2010, 07:00 AM
Hope you manage to get it sorted Brad_C2 :)

Brad_Colbert
10-08-2010, 07:10 AM