PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade pricing question

Patryn999
20-10-2010, 08:30 AM
I’ve been perusing the forums looking at what people have done turbo wise, and (obviously) there are quite a few alternatives out there. However I’m a complete and utter nub when it comes to this sort of thing, being an electrical engineer by trade I would not put me on the working side of a welder anytime soon (for fear of ones life).

I’m looking at upgrading the turbo’s sometime early next year, and was wondering if the NZers here could give me an estimate on what it cost them to accomplish this feat. If we can leave out the costs of ECU/Injectors etc and concentrate on what it costs to just get manifolds made/modified, piping, downpipes and turbo work that’d be great, as I don't have a f-ing clue in this respect.

From what I’ve read I’m probably looking at twin TD04’s or TD05’s, because I’m a jew. At a guess from the figures the TD04’s would be about +80whp, and the 5’s somewhat more. Reason I’m asking is that if the cost of getting stuff made up for me is going to be considerable, I’d be sorely tempted to fork out the extra on a set of BB tubs instead, or even look at single. I mean, it is all about best bang for buck :)

My ideal setup would be something I can remove & re-bolt onto another engine, as mine has done 180K and may give me funny looks when I start giving it herbs. To which I’ll give it the finger, drop it out and replace it.

P.S. I’m not the complete idiot I’m trying to make myself out to be, but it’s easier to err on the side of caution than get halfway through with a project and find out I’ve wasted my time/money etc by being a dork.

Current mods on car:
Bit of a road tune on ECU.
600x300x76 FMIC
WBO2
Uprated fuel pump
Zorst and de-cat.
EBC
Will also have RS plate diff in it by this time.
(probably running MAP by the time I get around to the turbo’s)