PDA

View Full Version : Odd Behaviour

Polabear
25-09-2004, 04:40 PM
Ok Guys,
This is mainly aimed at the owners with M/T as I have no experience of it happening in an A/T car. After driving along sedately (some of us do..... :rolleyes5 ) at around 30-40 in 3rd or 4th gear then floor it in 3rd or drop it down from fourth I get a loud pop/cough/spit from the exhaust, heard mainly under the floor. My question to anyone who may know is, is this the product of reigniting fuel vapour rich exhaust gasses which are left in the exhaust tract from driving gently then hoofing it,,,,or am I looking at a potential problem.

wirdy
25-09-2004, 06:54 PM
Mine doesn't do this :headsc:

Did it start post boost controller fit?

I have noticed initial overfuelling from BDA's & interlecs exhausts when I've been following them just as they boot it - quite normal, I'd say.

Legnum Boy
25-09-2004, 07:50 PM
Try this....

Drive along normally, when running at nominal temperature, pull in and get some more petrol... :p

When you get back in the car, as you start it up, floor the pedal, just for a second, and you will get numerous pops and bangs. :-D

Great for scaring the carp out of anyone on the forecourt.
Not so sure about the detrimental effect on the Cat. though.... :rolleyes5

Its defo an overfuel, re-igniting somewhere in the zorst.

nick-f1
26-09-2004, 12:26 PM
Mine doesn't do that either Sean, so must be boost controller? overfuelling related I should think. I've noticed the same as wirdy as well.

Nick

valmes
26-09-2004, 02:34 PM
Do you have boost controller fitted? Have you upped your boost?