PDA

View Full Version : A Question About Boost Gauges....

Erni902
22-04-2011, 12:09 PM
You will have to excuse my ignorance as I am still in the process of getting to know the VR-4. All ive dealt with is brakes so far.

So here goes, I am toying with the idea of performance upgrades but first I would like to install a boost gauge to make sure all is okay before I start breaking...i mean tinkering... with it. As we have two turbos on our cars (connected in parrallel.....??) I was thinking that maybe it would be slightly beneficial to install a boost gauge for EACH turbo. This way I can make sure that both turbos are functioning correctly and if there is a fault I can easily narrow it down to the correct turbo. I have VERY little knowledge of turbos (i am trying though) so not sure if I would see just a single turbo drop off the pressure with a single gauge. Meaning I would have to check out both of them if this were to happen.

This is the thinking that comes from my simple, no turbo knowledged, brain. Does anybody think this is worth doing and also has anybody done this before and found it beneficial?

Any help is much appreciated as im always looking to learn about my motor.

Rikki

Wodjno
22-04-2011, 12:14 PM
Hi

No need for 2 x Gauges.. 1 will suffice. In regard to 1 turbo breaking and being able to work out which 1.. Normally they start to let oil by there seal, so the pipe from the turbo with the fault will have more oil in than the other. There are other ways they can let go, but still easy to find which 1.

Wodj

Erni902
22-04-2011, 12:33 PM
Okie dokes cheers Glenn just the one it is then. Just another quick question...as ive only ever run N/A vehicles before with only the basic mods is there any other gauges you would recommend I use alongside the boost gauge for monitoring oil pressure etc. Im thinking of installing them underneath the stereo which has space for 3 gauges.

adaxo
22-04-2011, 12:58 PM