PDA

View Full Version : BOV issues after tuner installed boost gauge

Kyoshu
17-10-2004, 09:35 PM
I have an issue. :(

I can't hear my aftermarket BOV now after a popular tuning shop installed a boost gauge for me. They blame it on the BOV and said it's venting, but not enough. If that's the case where is it venting to? I had no issues with the BOV and only purchased it 2 months ago. It was working fine prior to this. I took it back and they said everything is as it should be. Not being a mechanic, I couldn't really argue with them. It's like having your average Joe argue I.T. with me.

I took the BOV off at home and it looks and functions the same as when I first installed it. I'm still new to the turbo game, but would this issue have something to do with the vacuum hose to the BOV not working or being fitted incorrectly? Or something to do with not enough vacuum pressure (or something like that) coming through the hose, since one of the hoses where T'd off to the boost gauge?

NEED HELP PLEASE, cause it's getting really annoying and I don't know if my car is functioning as it should. I don't want to break anything and have been granny driving my car.

Thanks in advance,

Oscar

Spirit
17-10-2004, 09:41 PM
I would say that sounds like a total load of boll*cks ! There is no reason why a boost gauge would have any effect on your BOV - there are loads of us who have them both fitted with no issues - I would say you have lost some pressure somewhere.......how does the car feel to drive and when you floor it ?

Maybe a hose has come not been tightened properly ? What does the gauge actually read at max boost ? Also run the engine and lift the bonnet to see if you can hear a loud hissing noise too - would indicate an air release somewhere.

wirdy
17-10-2004, 09:59 PM