PDA

View Full Version : Need some tyres and discs....

marsh
17-11-2004, 08:45 PM
My Vr4 could do with a bit of fettling, I'm after some decent (but cheap) rubber, the wheels are standard but I'd like some recommendations as I'm new to VR4 ownership.

Secondly, my brakes are........er........a litlle lumpy. I've read into the brake issues on here, but didn't really come to any conclusions. Can anyone point me in the direction of some quality discs and pads for a man with a budget?.

Ta muchly.

Lurch
17-11-2004, 09:12 PM
Hmm, I don't know about the UK but will be getting my brake pads replaced (front and back) @ Midas shortly for $79 NZD :) w00t :)

Pete M
17-11-2004, 09:19 PM
Midas? You trust them? Brave man....

Nick Mann
17-11-2004, 09:29 PM
For the discs, do a search on National Racing. They are approved by many on here and the posts you turn up should also cover the others.

Rubber will probably be a case of shopping around and seeing what your local stockists have got too many of.

Lurch
17-11-2004, 09:36 PM
Midas? You trust them? Brave man....

Have one I go to all the time, havent had any problems yet :)

KiwiTT
17-11-2004, 09:51 PM
Don't get cheap rubber ... not on a Super Saloon ... get Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-DS.

Spirit
17-11-2004, 09:56 PM
Got to agree with Richard on this - cheap tyres and brakes are not worth the risk IMO on any car, let alone something of this power and weight.

Totally agree with Goodyear Eagle F1's.

As Nick says, the National Racing discs are excellent for the price, and compliment these with some Ferodo DS2500 pads and you have some quality stopping power. If you get the discs/pads from Woodford Garage Motorsport they will set you back around £230 delivered....bargain ! If you call them ask to speak to Simon and tell him Pete from CVR4 sent you ;)

Lurch
17-11-2004, 10:08 PM
Don't get cheap rubber ... not on a Super Saloon ... get Goodyear Eagle F1 GS-DS.