PDA

View Full Version : Boost Leak

gadboy007
29-02-2012, 09:42 PM
OK I've searched on here for ages and can't seem to find the answer! Maybe just me not looking in the right thread!!
I've read a lot about people checking for boost leak, but can't seem to find any explanation of how you do this!
When I put my foot down, the car coughs and splutters at anything over about 6 psi. It still gets up to silly speeds, but seems to take a while to get there, as I say, coughing as she goes!
I have read about using a compressor and soapy water to check for leaks, but being a novice,dont want to wreck anything in the process! Is there any easy way to check if I have a leak? If I use a compressor and soapy water,where do I attach the compressor? Do I have to keep the pressure at a certain PSI? Like I say, I'm a novice at this sort of thing, so any comments,advice,abuse,would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in anticipation guys.
Ian

Wobble
29-02-2012, 09:45 PM
http://www.clubvr4.com/forum/showthread.php?51541-boost-leek-finding-day-19-9-TRING&highlight=boost+leek+finding+day

post 168 has pics of how to do and where to do it ,the psi is in there somewhere but i will let you read through all this lol

gadboy007
29-02-2012, 10:03 PM
Cheers for that Dave, a little light bedtime reading :stars:

Davezj
29-02-2012, 10:27 PM
Just make sure you have very good control over the pressure and are capable of increasing it gently from 0 psi to 14psi, and no more then 20ish psi. It is very easy to over pressureise the system buy a few bar which is a massive amount and damage things, like wastegate actuators, intercooler, gaskets, etc.
Most compressor regulators are not capable of doing this very fine control of the pressure. You will normally have to use a second lower pressure regulator to do the control. Set the compressor regulator to 2bar (24psi) then the second regulator is used to set it down it the lower pressure.

Hope this makes sense.

gadboy007
29-02-2012, 10:35 PM