PDA

View Full Version : Need a Dumpvalve?

Legnum Boy
12-12-2004, 03:19 AM
Correct me if I'm being dumb (before I damage my car... :$ )
There is a standard DV in the piping near the Intercooler, yes?
Can it be removed, without installing an aftermarket BOV?
I read somewhere that DV's aren't needed on low pressure turbo systems.

Will removing the DV increase the turbo flutter/wastegate chatter (I know what I mean... :$ ), or just break something expensive? :rolleyes5

Kenneth
12-12-2004, 09:59 PM
Im no expert, but ill relay what I have read on the subject...

When you let off the gas, the throttly butterfly closes, causing pressure buildup in the pipework. This pressure is made because the turbo is still spinning, and if you have been WOT at high load, the chances are its spinning very damn fast.

just think about it really... your car is sucking in all this air, and your turbo is pumping enough air to not only supply all the air your engine needs, but enough extra to keep your intake at positive pressure. thats a lot of air. when you stop the engine demanding air, the turbo is still pumping at the same rate.

The pressure buildup will cause back pressure on the turbine, causing it to slow down. if you dont have a dump valve, the turbine can slow very quickly, which isnt good for it.

I have heard that the back pressure causes the turbine to cut the air thats built up in the piping, making a cool sound. even if true, I wouldnt consider it worth possible turbo failure.

So basically, BOVs are good for increasing the life of your turbo and for reducing turbo lag. downsides? i dont know of any... someone might though.

Legnum Boy
12-12-2004, 10:55 PM
Thats the same stuff that I have read too, with the exception to the 'reduces turbo lag' bit. I was of the understanding that DV's rapidly reduce the pressure built up, which means that when you get back on the throttle, the turbo's have to re-pressurise the system again, therefore creating more lag. :|