PDA

View Full Version : No Drive.

OnAmish
06-06-2012, 12:20 PM
Had my ’97 VR4 awhile now. Still learning and reading the resources section but have a problem come to light again…

Afew months ago in Drive, stopped at junction, N, back to D wouldn’t move. Read on here so changed n flushed (11 litres) with amsoil atf. 800 miles or so later brings me to today. Stopped at traffic lights, N, then D no movement again. Eventually got going through combo of R, N, R and turning engine off.

Checked level of ATF when reached my destination today, seems correct.

Any ideas please? I’m not a mechanic but try n figure out problem before I ask my mechanic mate to fix. He loves seeing me come round the corner in this car!! :tiny:

adaxo
06-06-2012, 12:53 PM
May cable/linkage needs adjustment on gbox side

Nick Mann
06-06-2012, 03:35 PM
I'd also check the multiplugs on the top of the box. It sounds like something daft rather than something mechanical.

Davezj
06-06-2012, 05:14 PM
i would second both of the above.

when i swapped my auto box i didn't align the gear selector mechanisium and it was touch an go if Drive would be selected.

also electrical milti plug are a good bet also.

OnAmish
06-06-2012, 06:22 PM
Thanks for the quick replies. It's no good when a Learner driver beats you at the lights!

elnevio
06-06-2012, 06:32 PM
/haz :embarasse

Yes, take the air snorkel off, and also the soft intercooler pipe, that should hopefully give you enough access. There is the quarter-circle seashell shaped gear selector there, that should be obvious. Not sure where the adjustment is, but it would be a case of slightly lengthening/shortening the length of the cable so that the selector sits dead central in every gear selection. There are also three plugs on top of the gearbox - I think you should be able to reach all three - which are definitely worth checking to see if any need reseating.

aboo
06-06-2012, 06:37 PM