PDA

View Full Version : Possible way to raise fuel cut limit ??

jamiep
18-08-2012, 11:20 AM
Hey guys, this maybe a total noob question but i cant find an answer by searching.
From what i have read on here, fuel cut seems to be determined by volume of air flowing thru maf sensor (correct me if i'm wrong). If i wind the bypass screw back on the maf sensor (the one under a blob of silicone) and allow a bit of unmetered air thru, would this not fool the ecu and as well as leaning the mix out, wouldnt it raise the fuel cut limit ?? I have already wound the restricter screw out and there is a definate increase in power and a slight boost increase but as i have removed my boost controller not sure if it will affect fuel cut yet and the weather in wales in not permitting me to tinker......if only i didnt have a broken V6 sport clogging up my garage lol

Thanks ppl

aboo
18-08-2012, 11:46 AM
Only way to raise fuel cut safely is by flashing the ECU.

jamiep
18-08-2012, 11:54 AM
Only way to raise fuel cut safely is by flashing the ECU.

So what i said wont fool the ecu then ?? Found it as part of a tuning flow chart by road runner racing(?) for leaning out the AFR.

aboo
18-08-2012, 12:07 PM
Not that I know of. I have done the MAF mod & I didn't notice much difference. If you want to mess about with the AFR's you'll need something like a Innovate MTX-L Wideband Gauge.

jamiep
18-08-2012, 12:10 PM
Yeah as it stood it was running quite rich so i leaned it out on trial and error but it seems to be running much smoother, a little lumpy at idle but i can live with that. Next purchase will be a gauge so i can optimise it. Thanks for the quick reply tho dude

BraindG
18-08-2012, 02:14 PM
Don't do the MAF mod, it's proven to increase knock dramatically - for proof please see my "removing the knock" thread.

Get it back to normal ASAP, only once you have facilities to flash an ECU reconsider this.

Kryton
18-08-2012, 02:29 PM