PDA

View Full Version : Blown gearbox! Help req' pls

Legnum_oz
10-10-2013, 10:52 AM
Hey everybody... Long story short but my gearbox has blown to smithereens and gear has locked up in D, R & N. How and what should I do to get my car to roll again so I can push into the garage??

I'm still new to AWD systems so I'm not sure what is required?? I'm assuming somewhere along the lines of I bolting the tail shaft etc??

Harder than it seems perhaps??!

foxdie
10-10-2013, 11:14 AM
Hi Kenny,

Sorry to hear your box has gone. They're a bit awkward when they do, you probably are looking at removing the tail shaft, that way the transfer case will let the front spin and the rear diff won't have any obstruction. Should also make towing easier as well (although I wouldn't tow it faster than 40 km/h in that state, resistance in the transfer case may try and turn the gearbox, best to flat bed it).

I believe this to be true, if not someone will correct me; There should be 4 nuts and bolts on the shaft roughly where the Cat (or decat pipe) sits, undo those and then you can pull the rear half of the shaft down and then towards the front of the car with a bit of welly to remove. At this point there may be some oil spill out of the rear diff so you'll need to plug it up with something absorbent but not contaminated (a clean towel will do).

Ps. there are some good guides in the members section for replacing the autobox, if you decide to become a full member, you'll be able to access the guide here; http://www.clubvr4.com/forum/showthread.php?19502-Auto-box-removal

Kind regards,
Jason

Davezj
10-10-2013, 01:37 PM
right idea mate but i think it is the other end.
if you undo the 4 bolts in the propshaft near where the CAT would be, it is the front part of the prop shaft that will be able to be removed from the back of transfer case. it will diconnent the rear and allow it to turn indipendantly.
but i am not sure if the front wheel will go round is the gear box is trashed and locked up.