PDA

View Full Version : Installing front speakers issue

low_vr4
29-12-2014, 08:26 AM
Hi guys,

I asked this question on facebook so just seeing if anyone else had had the same issue.
So, i replaced the legnums rear speakers with 6.5's and had no issues, all working fine. So i went to replace the front as well and came across a problem. I cut the existing block off that connects to the factory speakers and went to test the new speaker.....nothing. There are 4 wires, two thin and two thick. I connected the thick wires to the + and - on the speakers...nothing at all! I then went and tried the factory speaker (which was working 2 mins before) dead too! Really weird.
All other speakers are still going fine at this stage. Took kick panel off, fine here.

Have i potentially blown a fuse or the speaker?

Bobby~d
29-12-2014, 09:03 PM
I'm no expert here but it sounds like you grounded the wires together when you cut them. Which probably caused the output ic on the deck to blow.

low_vr4
29-12-2014, 09:48 PM
I'm no expert here but it sounds like you grounded the wires together when you cut them. Which probably caused the output ic on the deck to blow.

So it needs to be rewired?

Bobby~d
29-12-2014, 09:52 PM
I would suggest that you get a tech to check the deck but I'm sure someone else will chime in with their input

Gly
29-12-2014, 10:02 PM
do the rear speakers still work??
if so you've ruined the internal amp on the stereo.

low_vr4
29-12-2014, 10:16 PM
do the rear speakers still work??
if so you've ruined the internal amp on the stereo.

Yup rear speakers still work fine, and so does the other factory speaker in the other door

Bobby~d
29-12-2014, 10:24 PM
If the factory speakers on the next door still work I would have to say that it looks like you're wiring in the new speaker the wrong way. Try the original one that you took out on the door which is working and see if it plays.

Gly
29-12-2014, 10:24 PM
yep, buy a new stereo

low_vr4
29-12-2014, 10:37 PM