PDA

View Full Version : Hi guys im new to owning a VR4 and have some question.

TREX
12-10-2015, 04:15 AM
Hey guys, I have just purchased a vr4 legnum. Mods: coilovers, wheels, De-Cat and Catback exhaust.
I want to up the boost a little what do i need to do so i can saftly run 12 PSI? Fuel pressure reg / FMIC kit ect.
Also can i use a t piece that runs between the actuators and to the turbo front housing or do i need to run an electronic boost controller?

One more thing, Do i have to run iridium plugs?

Thanks heaps

Kenneth
12-10-2015, 04:35 AM
In Australia, I would be wanting to put in a decent aftermarket intercooler. You should be able to do 14psi no problems, though if you have a manual with standard clutch, that could be a weak point.

You really need to tune the ECU to get the most benefit from upping the boost. As such, you shouldn't need any external boost controller.

You should be going to a colder plug. BKR7EIX or equivalent. Iridium isn't necessary, though you want a high quality plug as the boost can destroy a crappy plug very quickly and causing issues running at decent boost. Some things are not worth being cheap about, spark plugs are one of them. Personally I have always run BKR7EIX and have run boost into the 20s before getting issues. I also haven't suffered any premature plug degradation with these.

TREX
12-10-2015, 05:02 AM
Hey Kenneth,

Thanks for the quick reply.
My Legnum is auto so clutch isnt an issue and the gearbox should be strong enough for what im wanting to do.
When i do the intercooler do i NEED to do hard piping throughout the engine bay?
When you say Tune the ecu, do you mean replce it with an aftermarket ecu or is there someone that chips the standard ecu (like Niztune for nissans ect)
Alos are the BKR7EIX plugs gapped to 0.8 or 1.1?

Thanks heaps for the help :)

elnevio
12-10-2015, 08:55 AM
/Welcome