PDA

View Full Version : Help! Very violent misfire under load!

Shardach
08-09-2016, 11:03 PM
Hey guys! Newbie here.

Hoping someone could help me out here, I have a 96 Galant VR-4, EC5A 6A13TT.
Ever since I brought the car it's a had a very violent misfire under load, I haven't had time to look into it until now and was hoping someone could give me some leads as to what to look for.

It happens when I put a load on the engine and get up to around 3500-4500rpm and then the whole car slams violently losing power and makes a loud smack noise but continues fine afterwards. As far as I know it happens only well driving as I haven't had it happen well revving out in neutral, but then I again I don't really do that very often. It has also happened once well launching.
I haven't checked anything yet but I know some possible problems could be:
Lean air/fuel mixture from injectors, dirty or faulty MAF
Bad spark from coils, plugs or leads
Carbon build up on the EGR valve

I have recently replaced the fuel tank due to a crack (What a c**t of a job) and well doing so I did the fuel filter and pump so I know fuel delivery at least to the engine is not the problem.
I'm hoping to go into Waiariki polytechnic later today with a mate who is studying there so we can use the scanning tool so hopefully I'll have some codes soon for you fallas to look though.

Any help would be very much appreciated :)
Cheers guys!

SEAN-NZ
09-09-2016, 08:28 AM
Most scan tools won't work as these cars aren't obd2 compliant even thought they have the plug, it sounds like fuel cut, usually caused by high boost, does it have an aftermarket boost controller? If so, try and back the boost off a bit

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Atik
09-09-2016, 04:52 PM
Sounds like boost cut. Usually kicks in at that rev range if you are running boost too high. Feels like hitting a wall.

If you accelerate at medium throttle, do you get the same issue?

Nick Mann
09-09-2016, 05:01 PM