PDA

View Full Version : Load / Towing Capacity of Legnum

Muffler Doug
14-06-2005, 11:03 AM
Hi All,

I'm new to these cars and was wondering what the max load / towing capability of the Legnum is.

In anticipation, Doug

bernmc
14-06-2005, 11:35 AM
Still haven't found my manual, but the UK law for trailers is:

Type 01: unbraked trailers - max. 750kg gross trailer weight or half the towing vehicle's kerb weight - whichever is less.

Type 02: trailers on overrun brakes - max. 3500kg gross trailer weight

Leggies are around 1500kilo's so 750kg loaded unbraked trailer providing your towhitch was up to spec.

Someone with a manual can look up the official line for you...

97_Legnum
14-06-2005, 01:39 PM
Well I used my Legnum to drag a full sized skip bin about 100 mtrs, and that was full of scrap steel.

As for towing, well I don't have a tow bar.

i3ooyah
14-06-2005, 02:15 PM
i heard its not good on the tiptronic box, maybe someone can confirm?

Muffler Doug
14-06-2005, 04:43 PM
Type 02: trailers on overrun brakes - max. 3500kg gross trailer weight

Well what I have in mind for towing is a twin axle boat trailer with a handrake (is that what you mean by overrun brake) weighing in the region of 1750-2000kg gross. Add to that four/five people, a fully laden boot, roof box, bike rack etc etc for taking on holidays....is it going to be up to it?

Don't like the sound of the tiptronic box being delicate to such circumstances. What is the most loaded some of you have achieved?

SGHOM
14-06-2005, 04:47 PM
one renowned member on here, towed a 4 wheel trailer, complete with another mitsubishi saloon on board, & still out dragged another car from the traffic lights !!! :rolleyes4 /yes /yes :thumbsup:

Nick Mann
14-06-2005, 05:08 PM
Surely as long as it's not stop/start all the time the auto box would be better? Or am I talking pish!

My legnum in road trim with 1/2 tank petrol is 1660 kg. That is with no-one in it.

bernmc
14-06-2005, 05:44 PM