Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Does anyone recognise that

  1. #1

    Offline
     
    Name
    Marcin
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Last Online
    15-05-2022
    Posts
    48
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Car
    Galant vr4
     

    Does anyone recognise that

    Can anyone give me a part number for it and where can I get replacement.

    IMG-20200104-WA0001.jpg
    Last edited by Humpty's Revenge; 05-01-2020 at 10:50 AM.

  2. #2
    Nick Mann's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Nick
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    17
    Posts
    24,903
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Redditch
    Car
    Legnum type-S
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    That is a speedo converter I think? If so, any kmh to mph converter for a three wire speedo should do it.

  3. #3

    Offline
     
    Name
    Marcin
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Last Online
    15-05-2022
    Posts
    48
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Car
    Galant vr4
     
    You are a star Nick thank you

  4. #4
    gixer599's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    302
    Posts
    202
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    medway
    Car
    LR 110, 99 vr4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Quote Originally Posted by Nick Mann View Post
    That is a speedo converter I think? If so, any kmh to mph converter for a three wire speedo should do it.
    Nick, is that the one on the back of the gearbox that's a pain to get to? I've stripped the dash and interior and taken the airbox off and still cannot find my one

  5. #5
    Confused's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Garry
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Last Online
    12-04-2024
    Membership ID
    714
    Posts
    3,546
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Notts
    Car
    Legnum VR-4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    The one in the image above does look to be one that goes in-line with the speed sensor on the top of the gearbox.

    If you can find it, then @foxdie can update your dash cluster to change the input from km/h to mph, so you don't need a converter that's likely to fail again

  6. #6
    gixer599's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    302
    Posts
    202
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    medway
    Car
    LR 110, 99 vr4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Quote Originally Posted by Confused View Post
    The one in the image above does look to be one that goes in-line with the speed sensor on the top of the gearbox.

    If you can find it, then @foxdie can update your dash cluster to change the input from km/h to mph, so you don't need a converter that's likely to fail again
    Mines a Ralliart one so being trying to find the bugger for ages as I have no speedo or odometer so can't get it MOT'd. Stripped the dash, tunnel side panel and airbox to find one in the wiring and found this post so was hoping that is it.

  7. #7
    Confused's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Garry
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Last Online
    12-04-2024
    Membership ID
    714
    Posts
    3,546
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Notts
    Car
    Legnum VR-4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Speedo isn't checked on MOT, though, is it?

  8. #8
    gixer599's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Paul
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    302
    Posts
    202
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    medway
    Car
    LR 110, 99 vr4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Quote Originally Posted by Confused View Post
    Speedo isn't checked on MOT, though, is it?
    No, but the cowboys that screwed it up, didn't notice it wasn't working and added a few miles to the MOT to make it look like they had drove it first, so milage is about 6 miles above what is on the clock so when put in computer it will ping up on the milage.

  9. #9
    Confused's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Garry
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Last Online
    12-04-2024
    Membership ID
    714
    Posts
    3,546
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Notts
    Car
    Legnum VR-4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Oh, I see... that sucks! The post-MAF pipework isn't that difficult to get off, which should give you access to view the plug on the gearbox and the wiring thats coming off it, and hopefully something "non OEM" is there!

  10. #10
    Nick Mann's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Nick
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    17
    Posts
    24,903
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Redditch
    Car
    Legnum type-S
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    As Garry says - if the converter is on the gearbox you need to go downwards from the throttle body area to find the sensor/plug/loom on the top of the gearbox. The one in the photo you referred to is definitely one that plugs in to the top of the gearbox. If you find it then I'd thoroughly recommend removing it so the car reads in km/h again then see Jay @foxdie to reprogramme your speedo.

  11. #11
    foxdie's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Jason
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    518
    Posts
    5,034
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Car
    PFL Legnum Man
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Happy to help where required, I can perform the following dash programming services (Hi-vis VR-4 dash clusters only!);

    Adjust the scaling of the gearbox signal
    This changes what speed the dash sees, exactly what a speedo converter does. Odometer and trip values are left the same, but the speedometer and how much the odometer and trip counters increment is then changed to MPH or KPH.

    Adjust the needle scaling
    For those who want to fit a 240, 260 or a 280 dash fascia, this just adjusts how far the speedometer needle moves relating to speed.

    Mileage adjustments
    I can adjust the odometer value on the dash, however I am legally bound to comply with UK Government Guidelines on changing odometer values. There are lots of hoops to jump through, but TL;DR, lots of evidence and justification needs to be completed beforehand.

    That said, @gixer599 if the MOT station has falsified records, you can legally demand they undo them. They can correct this from their systems pretty easily.
    Have questions about performance upgrades and ECU tuning? Before PM'ing me, Check this thread first
    Please support CVR4 & become a Full member, you get a full years access to guides, games, chat & much more!

Similar Threads

  1. VR40RG Numberplate, anyone recognise it?
    By Dom B in forum NZ Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-12-2012, 10:33 AM
  2. PC won't recognise SD card ??
    By Wodjno in forum General Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-12-2008, 09:41 PM
  3. Recognise this bodykit??
    By Louis in forum Random Pictures / Videos / Jokes
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 02:00 PM
  4. Anyone recognise this?
    By Hilly in forum VR-4 Pictures & Videos
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-03-2007, 10:25 PM
  5. Anyone recognise this? Turbo timer?
    By bernmc in forum VR-4 Pictures & Videos
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19-02-2005, 08:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •