Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Ecuflash Error/ECU Bricked?

  1. #1

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     

    Angry Ecuflash Error/ECU Bricked?

    Hello, I recently tried to get KSmods 1.03 running on my 7202 ecu. Got everything working but wanted to change the LC rpm, Changed it to 4499 and got error:
    kernel flash enable
    [11:41:09.196] kernel blank flash page: addr: 00020000
    [11:41:24.301] WARNING: failed to erase page at 00020000!
    [11:41:24.301] kernel flash disable
    [11:41:26.315] interface close
    I have pretty much tried everything at this point. Tried flashing every rom i have and know they work but it just cant seem to be able to erase that page. Has anyone encountered a similar problem and may be able to point me to a solution or is the ecu done?
    Thanks, also attaching full log just in case.
    Cant upload the log here since its too large, download it here: https://www.upload.ee/files/13471152/error.txt.html

  2. #2
    Confused's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Garry
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    714
    Posts
    3,306
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Notts
    Car
    Legnum VR-4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Does the ECU still run the car at this point? Or is it totally dead?


    Both myself and @foxdie have had ECU failures during flashing, which have rendered the ECU totally unusable - we don't know exactly what is causing it, but we *think* it's trying to reflash when the ECU is warm - for example if you've been driving the car hard, it's been sitting for a while with a hot exhaust, a long tuning session on the dyno etc, as the ECU is tucked up under the dash, on top of the transmission tunnel & exhaust, with no "natural" airflow to aid cooling.

    I can't remember exactly the errors, but it might have been similar kinds of messages.

    Or, it could just be that there's been too many changes flashed to the ECU - especially if you've been trying multiple things and have flashed it quite a lot.


    I would probably say that your ECU is knackered, and you'll need a new one.

  3. #3
    foxdie's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Jason
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Last Online
    05-10-2021
    Membership ID
    518
    Posts
    5,027
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Car
    Silver PFL VR4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Hi @GregorEST - as Garry has asked, is the car running at this point?

    The symptoms you describe are akin to EEPROM failure - it plagues flashing most factory ECU's at this point (which is why I keep spares when I'm tuning!).

    There's 2 types of failure I've observed;

    * Flashing failure towards the start of the EEPROM addresses, this results in a totally dead ECU you cannot fix
    * Flashing failure towards the middle / end of the EEPROM addresses, can sometimes be recovered by flashing back the last good flashed ROM

    If you can still flash, I would try flashing back the last successful ROM you programmed - hopefully you kept backups - that way the checksum should match and the ECU should start the car and drive.

    In either case, you'll probably need a replacement ECU.

    Keep an eye on the forum though, a couple of us have something in the works to provide a drop-in ViPEC / Link ECU where everything just works
    Want your car tuning? Here's my pricing
    Have questions about performance upgrades and ECU tuning? Before PM'ing me, Check this thread first
    Please support CVR4 & become a Full member, you get a full years access to guides, games, chat & much more!

  4. #4

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     
    Thanks for the responses guys, I haven't tried starting the car since as soon as I turn on the ignition the relays go crazy and also the rpm gauge jumps up and down. I tried flashing tons of roms that i know have worked but that aadress page seems to be done for. I guess its time to go haltech��

  5. #5
    Confused's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Garry
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    714
    Posts
    3,306
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Notts
    Car
    Legnum VR-4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    If you do decide to get a Haltech, you'll be starting from scratch, but if you go with a Link, then we've got lots of experience, and can help you massively get up and running!

    As @foxdie says, keep an eye out because we're hoping that relatively soon, there'll be something available that'll make your life VERY easy to switch to an aftermarket ECU!

  6. #6

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     
    But at its current state you wouldn't recommend starting the car?

  7. #7
    foxdie's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Jason
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Last Online
    05-10-2021
    Membership ID
    518
    Posts
    5,027
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Car
    Silver PFL VR4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Quote Originally Posted by GregorEST View Post
    Thanks for the responses guys, I haven't tried starting the car since as soon as I turn on the ignition the relays go crazy and also the rpm gauge jumps up and down.
    Yep, this is symptomatic of a bad flash - the ECU processor detects an invalid checksum on the EEPROM and doesn't boot up. When you flash the car, you're actually resetting the ECU and loading a custom program into it, hence why you can still start a flash process

    Quote Originally Posted by GregorEST View Post
    I tried flashing tons of roms that i know have worked but that aadress page seems to be done for.
    Sadly no, it needs to be the exact known-good flash that worked last time. Otherwise the checksum won't match.

    Quote Originally Posted by GregorEST View Post
    I guess its time to go haltech��
    As Garry has said, we can support you with a ViPEC / Link ECU, between Garry and myself we've got 8 years experience with them already and can support them

    Quote Originally Posted by GregorEST View Post
    But at its current state you wouldn't recommend starting the car?
    If everything's clicking / going crazy that means the ECU isn't running the correct code and although the engine will turn over, there'll be no ignition / spark / fuel / anything.

    Where abouts do you live btw?

  8. #8

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     
    I live in Estonia. My reason for going the path of Haltech is simple. Since i work in a company that has great contacts at haltech I can get a 2500 cheap. I'll be doing a full custom harness and dbw anyways so yeah. And we also have a tuner in house that has tuned everything from street cars to top of the line drag cars

  9. #9
    foxdie's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Jason
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Last Online
    05-10-2021
    Membership ID
    518
    Posts
    5,027
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Car
    Silver PFL VR4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    Quote Originally Posted by GregorEST View Post
    I live in Estonia. My reason for going the path of Haltech is simple. Since i work in a company that has great contacts at haltech I can get a 2500 cheap. I'll be doing a full custom harness and dbw anyways so yeah. And we also have a tuner in house that has tuned everything from street cars to top of the line drag cars
    Fair enough, best of luck then

  10. #10

    Offline
     
    Name
    Bill
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Last Online
    09-10-2021
    Posts
    150
    Country
    Australia
    Car
    2000 Galant
     
    Posted in your thread on OZVR4

    Long story short, could be a bug in ECUFlash.
    I usually correct it with older version of ECUFlash that uses virtual com for the openport, but the other variable is the reflash kernel version is older too.

    https://www.ozvr4.com/threads/here-w...6/#post-356121
    Last edited by BCX; 14-09-2021 at 02:40 PM.

  11. #11

    Offline
     
    Name
    Bill
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Last Online
    09-10-2021
    Posts
    150
    Country
    Australia
    Car
    2000 Galant
     
    Also I believe plug in LinkECUs are already available. TME Motorsport been putting LinkECUs in VR4 for a while now, was under the impression they were plug in.
    I'll ask when I speak to Steve next.

  12. #12

    Offline
     
    Name
    Bill
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Last Online
    09-10-2021
    Posts
    150
    Country
    Australia
    Car
    2000 Galant
     
    Quote Originally Posted by foxdie View Post
    Yep, this is symptomatic of a bad flash - the ECU processor detects an invalid checksum on the EEPROM and doesn't boot up. When you flash the car, you're actually resetting the ECU and loading a custom program into it, hence why you can still start a flash process
    Not quite... that page is effectively empty so the processor is executing empty memory (ie program counter is still incrementing). Cos a whole page is missing, the whole rom/code doesn't run right.
    Nothing to do with checksums, H8 isn't that complex

  13. #13
    Confused's Avatar

    Offline
     
    Name
    Garry
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    714
    Posts
    3,306
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Location
    Notts
    Car
    Legnum VR-4
    My Garage
    Visit
     
    There aren't any current Link boards that are plug & play direct from Link. It's possible that Steve has either 1) modified the Evo 4-8 bottom board, or 2) made a new base board, or 3) does wiring changes...?

  14. #14

    Offline
     
    Name
    Bill
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Last Online
    09-10-2021
    Posts
    150
    Country
    Australia
    Car
    2000 Galant
     
    Quote Originally Posted by foxdie View Post
    * Flashing failure towards the start of the EEPROM addresses, this results in a totally dead ECU you cannot fix
    * Flashing failure towards the middle / end of the EEPROM addresses, can sometimes be recovered by flashing back the last good flashed ROM
    To elaborate on this a bit

    0x10000 to 0x101FF contain the vector table. This is critical for the H8 proc to boot as it tells the proc what address to jump to on first boot, errors, etc. If this is erased, then definitely would need to desolder the H8 and flash manually - or get another ecu.

    0x20000 is the start if the reflash routine, again if this page is erased, might have tough time reflashing. This is the routine that the proc jumps to when voltage is present at the reflash connector, and allows the proc to load the reflash kernel into ram, them execute the kernel from ram to then reflash the rom. if there's nothing to let ecuflash upload the kernel to ram (i.e. the routine is not there), then again new ecu or desolder proc and reflash manually.

    Fuel/ignition/bdel maps and all the other stuff that get tweaked are part of the same page as the vector table - which is a little dangerous if the reflash doesn't go well for that segment. In a 7202 this is segment/page LB7 (0x10000 to 0x12FFF)

    Reflash routine is part of segment LB3 (0x2000 to 0x23FFF), which is code not data, so usually doesn't get modified unless you are flashing a different rom like KSMods or Halo.

    7203 divides the segments differently, which is why the reflash is different and memmodel needs to be set correctly.

    Any other areas of rom that are corrupt/erased wouldn’t affect the ability to reflash.

    In the @GregorEST case, 0x20000 has attempted to erase, but failed. so the reflash routine might be still intact.
    Last edited by BCX; 15-09-2021 at 04:25 PM.

  15. #15

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     
    I have tried both ecuflash 1.44.4870 and 1.44.4799 but will give 1.38 a shot. Everything else flashes and completes perfectly. The problem only occurs in the 0x00020000 range.

  16. #16

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     
    Also i have 1998 so a 7202 and i use your defs @BCX.

  17. #17

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     
    Decided to keep the thread alive here, as per @BCX post at OZVR4 i uploaded the log to drive,
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Gv9...ew?usp=sharing
    If possible then @BCX you could send me the 1.41 installer and ill go give it a shot right away.
    Thanks everyone

  18. #18

    Offline
     
    Name
    Bill
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Last Online
    09-10-2021
    Posts
    150
    Country
    Australia
    Car
    2000 Galant
     
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/ixawuttido...3_win.exe?dl=0

    Here you go.

    Im more active on ozvr4 than here, your post on there triggered me to check here lol.

  19. #19

    Offline
     
    Name
    Gregor
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Last Online
    10-10-2021
    Posts
    19
    Country
    England
     
    Thanks!
    But will i still override the read templates and defs with the ones you made?

  20. #20

    Offline
     
    Name
    Bill
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Last Online
    09-10-2021
    Posts
    150
    Country
    Australia
    Car
    2000 Galant
     
    If you're using the default location ie c:\program files... Then grab the rommetadata folder, then reinstall.

    You can paste the folder back, or somewhere in ecuflash point to another folder for metadata.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Ecuflash error?
    By FTunedAU in forum ECUs / Mapping
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-06-2021, 07:21 PM
  2. ECUflash for v6 N/A
    By lateshow in forum Performance Mods
    Replies: 74
    Last Post: 17-08-2016, 09:31 PM
  3. Help using ecuflash
    By rajvr497 in forum General / Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-06-2013, 07:11 AM
  4. EcuFlash
    By ayebalpaul in forum ECUs / Mapping
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 28-02-2012, 01:00 AM
  5. ecuflash .bin file (need xml)
    By zentac in forum ECUs / Mapping
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-06-2011, 08:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •