Thread: Suggestions for bov or should I go for hybrid valve?

Name
    Ryan
    Last Online
    17-12-2023
    Country
    Other
    Car
    99 galant vr4

Suggestions for bov or should I go for hybrid valve?

Hey guys

I’m new to forced induction so please go easy on me. I know my 99 vr4 has a recirculating valve. But I’d really like a bov to hear it vent to atmosphere. What are most guy’s running? Hybrid valves possibly? Any suggestions for make and models and pros/cons are appreciated. I’m also a little concerned about screwing up my maf sensor if I vent to atmosphere

Name
    Nick
    Last Online
    17-03-2024
    Membership ID
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Car
    Legnum type-S
    My Garage
    Visit

Stalling issues can happen with VTA. I run an HKS SSQV and if I dump at high pressure and then keep the clutch pedal pressed the engine will stall. However I can drive around that and the child in me likes the noise!

Name
    Tim
    Last Online
    Yesterday
    Membership ID
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Car
    '97 Legnum
    My Garage
    Visit

I have a GFB hybrid valve. It allows a small amount to vent so I get a little noise but it stops it causing the engine stall issue Nick mentions. I can set it to VTA or full recirc as well.
    '97 Manual Legnum in silver with some subtle mods

My first VR4 - '97 Legnum Dark Green & mean ...it was love at first sight - now sold

Name
    Ryan
    Last Online
    17-12-2023
    Country
    Other
    Car
    99 galant vr4

Quote Originally Posted by TAR View Post
    I have a GFB hybrid valve. It allows a small amount to vent so I get a little noise but it stops it causing the engine stall issue Nick mentions. I can set it to VTA or full recirc as well.
    Ya I thought hybrid valve might be the way to go as well. I would guess that with a tune you could adjust the afr accordingly anyways. Any tips for hearing turbo spool and flutter or is that pretty much based on size of turbo and psi?

Name
    Ryan